New DUSA Council Sworn into Office

by Sumaya Hussein


Outgoing DUSA President Aloys Otieno handing over the instruments of power to incoming president Marco Laboso – Daystar University

Daystar University Students Association (DUSA) council was on Tuesday sworn into office, in a ceremony held in the Nairobi Campus.

Members of the council were sworn in by the president of the Law Society of Kenya (LSK), Mr. Nelson Havi.

In attendance also was CAS Public Services and Gender affairs Hon. Beatrice Elachi, VC Prof. Laban Ayiro, DVC Academic Affairs Prof. Faith Nguru, DVC Finance Dr. Muturi Wachira, Principal Nairobi Campus Prof. Michael Bowen, Dean of Students Rev. Mutinda Musyimi, members of the congress and the outgoing DUSA team.

Prof. Ayiro called on the new DUSA council to “see leadership as worship to God”.

“To Marco Laboso (president); Now that you are a leader, look for these qualities in your team; chemistry, commitment to the ideals of Daystar and character,” he said.

Marco Laboso sworn in as DUSA President by LSK President Nelson Havi – Daystar University

Prof. Faith Nguru encouraged the incoming council to “find the script of their leadership in the scriptures”.

Other members of the incoming council include Deputy President Monicah Gitau, Secretary General Paul Msando, Finance Secretary Wambui Njoroge, Athi River Campus Governor Walter Nalwa, Nairobi Campus Governor Brian Achoka and ISADU Chair Duc Florian.

The 2021 DUSA elections are the first in four years, since 2017, when the university was closed over a strike.

The inauguration brings hope for a new dawn in students and the university as a whole.

Mrs. Jane Irungu dedicates the DUSA council to God – Daystar University

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top