5 Counties Under Lockdown, Physical learning suspended – Uhuru

By Sumaya Hussein


President Uhuru Kenyatta has today announced cessation of movement in and out of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, by road, rail and air, effective Friday midnight, until further notice.

Speaking during the 15th Presidential address at State House, President Kenyatta referred to the five named counties as “disease infected areas”.

“That fully conscious 70% of Kenya’s reported cases of Covid-19 have been recorded in the counties of Nairobi, Kajiado, Machakos, Kiambu and Nakuru, those counties are individually and collectively declared a disease infected area,” said Kenyatta.

Curfew hours in these counties have therefore been revised to start at 8pm and end at 4am, while the rest of the counties retain 10pm to 4am, from Friday midnight.

Congregational worship in the zoned counties have been suspended, while other counties will continue to hold worship sessions under the existing Covid-19 regulations.

Operation of bars and selling of alcohol in eateries and restaurants in the five named counties are prohibited. Restaurants in these counties are to provide take-away services only.

All public gatherings and in-person meetings have been suspended within the above areas as well, until further notice.

Operations of bars, restaurants and eateries in the other 42 counties will continue but under strict adherence to Ministry of Health Guidelines.

Physical learning in all schools including universities have been suspended until further notice, except for the candidates sitting for the national exams and medical training institutions.

International travel into and out of the territory of the Republic shall continue in accordance with the existing guidelines on Foreign/International Travel.

All persons coming into Kenya must be in possession of a negative COVID-19 PCR certificate, acquired no more than 96 hours prior to arrival. The certificate must be validated under the Trusted Travel platform, for those travelling by air.

All sporting activities are suspended together with recreational facilities including member clubs until directed otherwise.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top